Welcome to Farai’s Favourites:

Welcome to Farai’s Favourites. This is an idea I stumbled upon quite recently and I’m glad I did; such a simple idea that I’m surprised I didn’t think of it sooner. This is a space where I’ll be sharing some of my favourite films, songs, reads etc, pretty much anything that I think deserves more recognition (and something you might enjoy as well). You’ll be able to find Farai’s Favourites under the ‘Entertainment’ category on my site.

When it comes to films, I love all things action, crime, comedy and true story based so expect to see a lot of that here. Music? I’ve got an eclectic taste so one minute I could share some R&B/soul and next minute gospel, whatever tickles my fancy at the time. I’ve recently made it a habit of mine to read for at least 15/20 minutes each day and so far so good. I enjoy self help books (A LOT) and, just like my music, I’m open to reading pretty much anything.

Now with Farai’s Favourites, you’ve got to promise that you’ll be open minded and give each film, song and read a FAIR chance.

I kickstart Farai’s Favourites with a book that was my favourite in primary school, but over time has proven to be one of my all time favourites. Introducing… The Help. I still remember my Year 5 teacher, Miss Bellanca, insisting that I read this book because she just knew I’d like it.

It’s a book that, despite me only being 10 years old, I found so interesting. At 10 years old, I wasn’t into many fiction books unless they had a realistic aspect to them e.g Jacqueline Wilson books. Although The Help is not based on a true story, it gives a small insight into what life would have been like for many black maids in the early 1960’s during the Civil Rights Movement in Jackson, Mississippi.

Two years later, in 2011, the film version was released and there was no way I was going to miss the chance to see it in the cinema. To date I’ve rewatched it at least 5 times, that’s how good it is but you don’t have to take my word for it, the countless awards speak for themselves. The subtle elements of comedy incorporated in this drama/romance film, are perfect. It’s a movie that you can easily watch by yourself or in a group.

The film used to be on Netflix but you know what Netflix can be like, randomly removing some of our faves. However it is available to rent on Amazon Prime for £3.49!

Add this to your to read/to watch list and let me know if you enjoyed it or not!

By Farai Denise

I don’t class myself as a writer despite the fact I'm here on WordPress. I'm just here to blog my thoughts and experiences on everything and anything. Who knew blogging could be so therapeutic? Thank you for taking the time to read my blogs. Feel free to like, comment and share them with family and friends! - Fi

Leave a comment